Secret Santa – Saint Nicolas, Father Christmas or Santa Claus?

Posted: December 19, 2012 in Festival

Santa
Santa is secret. In Belgium people call him Saint Nicolas. Earlier, I was familiar with name Santa Claus who used to come in Christmas and distribute gifts. In Belgium, I heard there is a Saint Nicolas, who does same. I first heard the name of Saint Nicolas from my Belgian colleagues and the stories of Saint Nicolas narrated by them is really impressive. Someone told that his entry into Belgium is a grand celebration, wherein he comes across the sea in a cruise and is given a red carpet welcome. And on the day of his arrival, you will find gifts everywhere. I too was lucky to get few gifts from the cafes where I had my breakfast and lunch. But, I couldn’t meet Saint Nicolas :(.
Wikipedia says Santa Claus and Saint Nicolas are same. It also mentions a new name for Santa, which I was not aware of – ‘Father Christmas’. Santa has different names across different parts of the world, this adds to the confusion – Who is my secret Santa? πŸ™‚
P.S. – This is not my pic πŸ™‚

Comments
  1. this is quite interesting. thanks for this. we need to have more sites like that.

Leave a comment